Older Recent Guestbook Notes Diaryland

29th of January, 2024 | 10:29 a.m.

A couple of nights ago I woke up in the early hours and got up to go get a drink from the kitchen. Directly outside the window I saw a little deer by the trees, eating leaves, perfectly lit with a blue glow by the moon and clear sky. I've never been that close to a wild deer, and though we live in a rural area I wouldn't expect them to wander so far from the woods into the houses. It feels diminishing to say that it felt magical, but I don't have better words for it.

It's more like I felt a brief glimpse into a secret vein of life that only comes from the dark. It's the same feeling I get from things like soft lights in the recesses of a Christmas tree, or a solitary lit window in the distance at night. I get a feeling like I've seen through to some other place, like I'm meant to be somewhere else but don't know how to get there.